PUMPKIN and SOY MEAT

Autumn has arrived and, the first time in my life I felt like…  …cooking a pumpkin – and I did! I have not satisfied my curiosity about pumpkin yet, so pumpkin dishes shall arrive, but for now please welcome an extremely improvised pumpkin – soy meat casserole!

Pumpkin and soy meat casserole

I have been lately properly introduced to the soy meat, and now I am a fan. It is cheaper, more environmentally friendly and mainly a fun thing to cook! You can add whatever spices you like, altering the flavor of your soy meat according to your personal taste. And that is exactly what I did, I generously sprinkled a bowl of soy meat with turmeric, Garam masala, dry garlic and dill and, of course, chilly!
After all the spices festival was over I have just poured in some hot boiling water and saw a small miracle  – what has been a bunch of dry boring bits a minute ago, became a perfect minced meat substitute!
Just let it soak for half an hour and you are set to make pasta, lasagna or whatever you have in mind.

I had in mind the pumpkin! Pumpkin is an inspiring orange vegetable that I have heard is very good for men ;) However, before it becomes sooo good it has to be somehow cooked, for example, baked in the oven for about 30 min under 180 degrees.

Once the pumpkin was baked and confirmed to be eatable, I just fried onions, few grated carrots and tomatoes with some jeera (amazing spice!). When vegetables got in a well-caramelized condition I added meat and fried for a while. Once that was done I layered soy meat and slices of pumpkin in the baking dish, adding here and there a thin layer of grated cheese. Finishing the top with tomato slices and all the cheese that has been left in my disposal. Baked at same 180 degrees for 15-20 minutes and served to myself and a, fortunately, hungry friend;).

We both concluded it turned out rather good! Soy meat is amazing with all the spices and pumpkin adds some tenderness to the dish. I will definetly cook it again, yet next time I will be braver and increase the presence of the pumpkin dramatically!

The dish with fork and knife

TAKE: about 1 cup of soy meat; your favorite spices; 2 small onions, 3 small tomatoes, 1 carrot; 1 half of a small pumpkin, grated cheese.

DO: peel the pumpkin (good luck with that) and cut it into small slices, bake in the oven for 40 min at 180 degrees; cut onions and tomatoes in half rainbows, grate the carrot; heat the frying pan and get on with the frying – starting with jeera seeds, followed by onions, carrots and tomatoes; steer and fry on a low fire until vegetables are nicely cooked; add preliminary prepared (soaked and spiced) soy meat. When meat and pumpkin is done locate them in alternated layers in a baking dish, finish the top with tomato slices and lots of cheese! Bake for 20 min at 180 degrees, allowing cheese to melt and the layers to exchange flavors.

–  That would be all!  –
– Hopefully even before Halloween we will meet with a pumpkin again :)! –

Leave a Reply

